Warped Tour’s Kevin Lyman Talks New Punk Rock Festival

As everyone knows, Kevin Lyman is best known as the creator of Vans Warped Tour, but after 2015’s It’s Not Dead in 2015, he’s come back for it again.

Here’s what he told Alternative Press:

For me, when I did the first It’s Not Dead festival, I think I had to do it for my own soul. I needed to stay connected to where I came from. Usually I’m trying to figure out what another generation is interested in and what they’ve done, so when I originally put IND together, I needed something to remind myself why I did this. I can go out [on Warped] and see kids singing along to I Prevail or Pierce The Veil and they are connecting to those bands the way Bad Religion, Pennywise and NOFX connected to me and what drove me to want to be around music my whole life. It’s Not Dead was something that meant to refresh myself. There was no real business plan to it: It was looked at as something that was lucky to break even, and the potential to lose money was something acceptable. It was something I wanted to do for myself, and in that moment, there were 20,000 other people that wanted to connect in the same way.

Here’s whos playing the festival in SanBernardino, CA.

its-not-dead.jpg

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

