Man Overboard’s Nikk Bruzzese Releases New Tracks From Solo Project

Man Overboard’s Nik Bruzzese has launched a brand new project with two new tracks you can hear now.

The project’s called Casa Loma and the tracks are taken off the upcoming debut EP, ‘This Is Coping’ which is set to be released on June 6th via Pure Noise Records.

On the EP Nik as said:

“I started writing this EP as a therapy session for myself. I went through one of the hardest years of my life last year because I lost two people very near to me. But when you’re a dad and have two daughters like I do, you’re not allowed to be sad. You have to be excited and happy about everything, even though inside you might be ripping to shreds.

“I think that’s the way most people work; they have to put up this front like everything’s fine even though they actually think the world is falling down around them. So writing this album was a way for me to vent and get out those feelings without tearing somebody’s head off or being a perpetual bummer to my family and friends. It’s for everyone who has to be this one person during the day and then someone different when they’re on their own.”

And the two tracks names?

First off we have ‘Travelers’ for which Bruzzese shares:

“Ever since my dad died, I feel like he sends me signs. Sometimes when I hear a weird sound in my house or a song on the radio, or I have an interaction with a stranger that feels special, I think it happened because my dad is trying to say something to me. I guess I keep looking for these signs because my dad didn’t really leave me with anything other than like, a Roth IRA. I want to leave something for my kids that’s on a level where they know it’s to them from me. So this song is like a letter in a drawer telling my kids what I need to say if I ever have to leave them.”

And the second is titled as ‘Famaglia’ in which he continues:

” This is totally a song meant to be played on an episode of ‘This Is Us.’ I don’t watch it, but my wife does, and every time she finishes an episode, she’s crying. I wrote this song from the perspective of a friend who lost a loved one in the most messed up way possible. When you lose someone like this, you have to be in touch with yourself spiritually and know even though the person you love is gone, you can talk to him and be lifted up with his presence instead of crashing and burning your way through life.”

The tracklisting for the EP is as follows:

01. All Alone Again
02. DP23
03. Famaglia
04. I Wanna Know
05. Olivia, Marley, and Duck Pond
06. Travelers

And this is the EP Art.


Whilst these tracks do form a similarity to which some Man Overboard tracks could see them stem from, the subjects I don’t think fit into what’s being played here. Here you have to think that Bruzzese is trying to establish himself as a different artist because there are more mature vibes and a more soulful and pop acoustic experience but the one way you’d describe Travellers? Emotional as hell.

Pre-orders can be made via Pure Noise’s Webstore and Google Play.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: