Surprise Record Release From Laura Jane Grace

There’s a brand new release, a surprise release from Laura Jane Grace today!

That’s right, an entire record of material was dropped by the frontperson of Against Me! where ‘Stay Alive’ is Grace’s second studio record as a solo artist.

Grace didn’t initially plan to release the material this year but to release a new Against Me! album until the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic derailed things. She explains how and why ‘Stay Alive’ came to be and how its title resonates with the current status of the live music industry.

“We came home from the Against Me! tour we were on in March, and right before we left, we had been in the studio working on songs, and I had been working on them for months prior.

I sat around for a month-and-a-half at a home just being shell-shocked being like, ‘What the fuck happened and what the fuck is happening with the world?’ As I started to get my bearings, I just came to the realization that waiting was going to kill the record and kill the songs. I spent two years working on all these songs, and the idea of throwing them away didn’t sit well with me. ​But then I was like, ‘What am I waiting for?’ All I have to do is adjust my scope. I can sit here on my fucking ass and do nothing, or I can work.

By putting the songs out, that puts the label in work, that puts a photographer in work, that puts a graphic designer in work, that puts a merch company in work, that keeps it alive. ​You hear on the news every day about people losing their jobs and everything collapsing, and I want to fight against that. The only way I can think to fight against that is to work.”

‘Stay Alive’ is available to stream and download digitally right now which physical copies set to be released on December 11th 2020 via Big Scary Monsters Polyvinyl Record Co. .

Check out the Cover Artwork, Tracklisting and Links to the Stream / Pre-Order below.

01.) The Swimming Pool Song
02.) The Calendar Song
03.) Shelter In Place
04.) Return To Oz
05.) The Mountain Song SuperNatural Possession
06.) Hanging Tree
07.) Please Leave
08.) Why Kant I Be You?
09.) Ice Cream Song
10.) The Magic Point
11.) Blood & Thunder
12.) So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Fuck Off
13.) Old Friend (Stay Alive)

Streams / Downloads are available via Amazon, Apple Music, Google Play and Spotify.

Pre-orders of a Physical Copy of the record are available from her Webstore, Bandcamp, Big Scary Monsters Webstore, Polyvinyl Records Co.’s Webstore.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: