DeGreaser Shares “The Cancer Power Ballad” From Album Feat Illuminati Hotties, Potty Mouth, Colleen Green

Miami-based shredders, DeGreaser, shared the new single “The Cancer Power Ballad” from their upcoming album Astrology 101 that comes out April 23rd, 2021. The Alec Jerome-directed music video, which debuted today via a premiere with Under The Radar Magazine, finds frontman Ben Katzman navigating the cosmos while enlightening listeners to the best attributes of the Cancer sign. In true power ballad form, the single starts with twinkling piano before the band bursts into a soaring chorus and a celestial guitar solo. Katzman’s love of classic metal is worn on his sleeve in this second teaser from the album, following the post-punk lead single “Mom’s A Capricorn” that debuted earlier this month.

Due out this spring via Starburns Industries Press (Open Mike Eagle, Patton Oswalt), Astrology 101 leads listeners through a heartfelt crash course of Astrology, giving each sign their own song with a unique vibe to match. The album features hand-painted artwork by Juan Montoya (ex-Torche, Moon Destroys) and appearances from members of Illuminati HottiesPotty MouthColleen Green.

Preorder Astrology 101 here ahead of release and watch the video for “The Cancer Power Ballad” here.

Speaking to Under The Radar Magazine about the new single, Ben Katzman said:
Cancer is known as the deep feeling psychic of the Zodiac. Their highly intuitive nature allows them to manifest the high’s and shred through the lows. Cancer’s harvest their powers to nurture and spread love amongst their pack and what better way to articulate those vibes than with a true Hair Metal Power Ballad! From the soaring lows of a Piano Ballad to the fierce Falsetto’s and Screeching Lead’s of 80’s past, I give you ‘The Cancer Power Ballad’.

Ben Katzman may be known for running BUFU Records (Tall Juan, Free Pizza, Japanther) and his role in the seminal psych-art band, Guerilla Toss, DeGreaser is the centerpiece of his impressive creative portfolio. Over the course of its existence, the pop-metal outfit has grown an impressive following for its dynamic songwriting, diary-like songwriting, and a diverse range of expertise in the worlds of astrology, shredding, and self-improvement. DeGreaser has packed landmark venues across the United States as they’ve toured alongside acts such as Mannequin Pussy, Colleen Green, and Tall Juan. Their sponsorship with Volcom has extended to tours with many of their top surfers and skaters, as well as some of the legendary surf brand’s gnarliest content. The band’s 2018 release, the Colleen Green produced full-length Quarter Life Crisis, was met with both critical acclaim and uncompromising fan support. 

In Spring 2021, Katzman will release DeGreaser’s new full-length record, Astrology 101, an uproarious ode to the impact of astrology on his life. While Katzman usually writes about everyday situations, the challenge of creating a thematic album where each song encapsulates the vibes and qualities of a different astrological sign was met head-on during the writing/recording process at Starburn Industries studio in Burbank, CA. Katzman drew influence from artists like KISS and the Ramones, the vibes and attitude of Abba and Klaus Nomi, and even the famed astrologer Walter Mercado on Astrology 101, resulting in a true manifestation of everything Katzman loves.

Check out the track listing below.

1. Aries Season
2. Taurean Tactics
3. Gemini Brain
4. The Cancer Power Ballad
5. Livin’ On Leo Time
6. VirGo-Go-Go
7. Libra Lovin’ Disco
8. Sensual Scorpio’s
9. Sassittarius
10. Mom’s A Capricorn
11. Aquarian Powers
12. Pisces Transmission

Check out the video for ‘The Cancer Power Ballad’ below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: