Jackie Release New Single, ‘Leaving Tomorrow (Figure It Out)’

Jackie have dropped a new single in the form of ‘Leaving Tomorrow (Figure it Out)’, the latest cut from their forthcoming EP ‘Hey Angel’, which has been announced for release on 27 January 2022. It drops just before the band head out on their first ever tour of the UK. Dates below.

“It had been years since this horribly horrible relationship I’d been in, but I was still pissed about it,” says singer and guitarist Jackie Mohr when musing on the new single. “Our producer wanted me to write something on the acoustic guitar so I picked up this busted ‘62 black and white Harmony Roy Smeck and played the first chords of this song. I just sort of ran with this one… “hey angel, where the hell have you been?” I sang, not knowing ‘Hey Angel’ would later become the EP title. No one is an ‘angel’, but we put people on an impossible pedestal. I was in Willow’s (writer/producer) basement and Ruby Waters was upstairs making eggs (or having a beer, I can’t remember which)… I started to BELT, and I mean BELT “I’m leaving tomorrow, figure it out” and from upstairs Ruby yelled out “FUCK YAAAA GIRL, WHOAA” and I knew we had a song. If I can give a word to the wise, if you’re thinking of leaving, just leave. They’ll figure it out.” 

‘Leaving Tomorrow (Figure It Out)’ follows recent single releases from jackie – ‘My Best Years’ and ‘Filter’.

Check out ‘Leaving Tomorrow (Figure It Out)’ below.

Check out the touring dates below.

05 Feb  London  The Old Blue Last
06 Feb  Milton Keynes  Crauford Arms
07 Feb  Southampton  Joiners
08 Feb  Newport Le Pub
09 Feb  Sheffield Record Junkee
10 Feb  Newcastle Think Tank
11 Feb  Leeds Wharf Chambers
12 Feb  Norwich Voodoo Daddy’s Showroom
13 Feb  Brighton Prince Albert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: