ITHACA Announces New REcord, ‘They Fear Us’

Ithaca have announced the details of the follow-up to their 2019 debut ‘The Language Of Injury’.

It’s called ‘They Fear Us’ and will be dropping on July 29 via their new label Hassle Records.

The announcement comes with the release of the title track off their upcoming release. An unapologetic and absolutely stunning display of who the band are as people individually as well as a collective. Grooving riffs, empowering howls and powerful breakdowns, it is an absolute beast that feels like the most complete and crafted version of the band to date.

The band had this to say about it:

“We’re proud to present ‘They Fear Us’, the debut single from our second album. 

We chose this as the first single because it reflects one of the big themes of the album – discovering and harnessing inner power, strength, revenge and retribution; challenging masculine power structures both in a general but also deeply personal sense. It’s a deific statement of intent – they may have hurt us before but now they fear us and you should too. 

“These ideas are reflected in the lyrics but also in the musical choices. The vocal sample is a field recording Sam made while he was in India grieving his mother’s death, of a priest leading a Ganga Aarti ceremony next to the Ganges – this ceremony invites Mother Ganga in and asks for her blessing, reflecting the power of the divine feminine. The drum break is pitched up to create a similar sound to a dhol. 

We’re so happy to share music that we feel reflects who we truly are as a band, standing unapologetically as us.”

Check out the Cover Art, Tracklisting and the title track, ‘They Fear Us’ below.

01. In The Way
02. The Future Says Thank You
03. They Fear Us
04. Camera Eats First
05. Cremation Party
06. Number Five
07. Fluorescent
08. You Should Have Gone Back
09. Hold, Be Held

Pre-orders for the record are available via the following link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: