Muse Announce New Record, ‘Will Of The People’

Muse have announced the details of their highly-anticipated new record. ‘Will Of The People’. 

Set to drop on August 26 via Warner Records, Vocalist Matt Bellamy had this to say about the album’s creation:

“’Will Of The People’ was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world.  A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed ‘Will Of The People’.  It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened.  This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

Matt added to the record on its themes:

“‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group.  Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with.  They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought.  We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion.  They just need our Compliance.”

01. Will Of The People
02. Compliance
03. Liberation
04. Won’t Stand Down
05. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
06. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
07. Kill Or Be Killed
08. Verona
09. Euphoria
10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Pre-orders for the record are available via the following link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: