Baby Strange Announce New Record, ‘World Below’

Baby Strange have announced their second album ‘World Below’, set to be released 17th June via Icons Creating Evil Art. There is an underlying rawness to the energy sewn deep into the fabric of Glasgow that the band have harnessed with an unrelenting force within the album’s ten tracks. Written as a reaction to how the pandemic has played havoc with mental health, the increasingly visible class divide and the meteoric rise of food banks across the country, ‘World Below’ is an album that explores the paradox of the topics set out within. It’s a narrative on the seemingly alternate universe we suddenly find ourselves living in, which has in fact become our new reality.

Vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden explains where Baby Strange were at and the headspace in which ‘World Below’ was conceived: “Since the release of our debut album we’ve had a lot of ups and downs as a band. The highs were unbelievable and the lows were some of the darkest we’ve ever encountered. There was actually a time where we never thought we’d release another album.

When the pandemic hit, we took a step back and looked at where we were at. As with every band, it was difficult not having the release of live music, we were all struggling with our mental health on personal levels and we started to feel defeated. 

But, being from Glasgow, we never shy away from a fight, so we got up and started writing again. We booked a few weeks in a writing house out in the middle of nowhere and spent time working on rhythms and new sounds that were fitting to where we’re at in 2022. 

The result is ‘World Below’, a record that’s bursting with energy & emotion.

We are so proud of it. It’s exactly what we set out to create, an exciting, honest album that feels brave and bold all at the same time. The new era is here and we can’t wait for people to come along for the ride with us.”

The announcement comes with the release of Baby Strange’s darkly haunting new single ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’, which features guest vocals from Hayley Mary of celebrated Australian indie rock band The Jezabels. A creative departure from the band’s signature sound, ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ builds upon the new textures and sounds recently delivered with the surprise drop of taster single ‘Midnight’ on New Years Eve and its anthemic follow up ‘Under The Surface’ at the end of January.

Check out the Tracklisting, latest single, ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ and Pre-orders for the upcoming record below.

1. World Below
2. Beating In Time
3. Under The Surface
4. Only Feel It When I’m With You (ft. Hayley Mary)
5. Poor Old Me
6. When It Calls
7. Higher 
8. 0141
9. I Feel So Cold But It’s Warm Outside
10. Midnight

Pre-orders for ‘World Below’ are available via the following link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: