Baby Strange Announce New Record, ‘World Below’

Baby Strange have announced their second album ‘World Below’, set to be released 17th June via Icons Creating Evil Art. There is an underlying rawness to the energy sewn deep into the fabric of Glasgow that the band have harnessed with an unrelenting force within the album’s ten tracks. Written as a reaction to how the pandemic has played havoc with mental health, the increasingly visible class divide and the meteoric rise of food banks across the country, ‘World Below’ is an album that explores the paradox of the topics set out within. It’s a narrative on the seemingly alternate universe we suddenly find ourselves living in, which has in fact become our new reality.

Vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden explains where Baby Strange were at and the headspace in which ‘World Below’ was conceived: “Since the release of our debut album we’ve had a lot of ups and downs as a band. The highs were unbelievable and the lows were some of the darkest we’ve ever encountered. There was actually a time where we never thought we’d release another album.

When the pandemic hit, we took a step back and looked at where we were at. As with every band, it was difficult not having the release of live music, we were all struggling with our mental health on personal levels and we started to feel defeated. 

But, being from Glasgow, we never shy away from a fight, so we got up and started writing again. We booked a few weeks in a writing house out in the middle of nowhere and spent time working on rhythms and new sounds that were fitting to where we’re at in 2022. 

The result is ‘World Below’, a record that’s bursting with energy & emotion.

We are so proud of it. It’s exactly what we set out to create, an exciting, honest album that feels brave and bold all at the same time. The new era is here and we can’t wait for people to come along for the ride with us.”

The announcement comes with the release of Baby Strange’s darkly haunting new single ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’, which features guest vocals from Hayley Mary of celebrated Australian indie rock band The Jezabels. A creative departure from the band’s signature sound, ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ builds upon the new textures and sounds recently delivered with the surprise drop of taster single ‘Midnight’ on New Years Eve and its anthemic follow up ‘Under The Surface’ at the end of January.

Check out the Tracklisting, latest single, ‘Only Feel It When I’m With You’ and Pre-orders for the upcoming record below.

1. World Below
2. Beating In Time
3. Under The Surface
4. Only Feel It When I’m With You (ft. Hayley Mary)
5. Poor Old Me
6. When It Calls
7. Higher 
8. 0141
9. I Feel So Cold But It’s Warm Outside
10. Midnight

Pre-orders for ‘World Below’ are available via the following link.

Baby Strange Announce UK Headlining Dates For May 2022

Baby Strange have announced a clutch of headline dates across the UK in May.

Vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden says “We can not wait to get back out on the road to play some of our favourite cities. We’ll be playing some new songs that we’re buzzing for people to hear. There will be some very exciting supports on the bill too, it’s going to be a fun tour.” The live shows come ahead of the band’s second album which is due to land summer 2022 via Icons Creating Evil Art. More news soon. 

A first official taster of new music from the Glasgow indie punk trio was released a couple weeks back in the form of the hypnotic ‘Under The Surface’, the lyric video for which has just been revealed. It followed on from the surprise drop of ‘Midnight’ at the strike of midnight on New Years Eve. 

13 May  Aberdeen  The Tunnels
15 May  Manchester  Night & Day
16 May  Birmingham  Dead Wax
17 May  Brighton  The Hope & Ruin
19 May  London  The Shacklewell Arms

Baby Strange Release New Single, ‘Under The Surface

Baby Strange have released their new single ‘Under The Surface’, which serves as a first official taster of the band’s forthcoming second album, due out later this year via icons Creating Evil Art. It follows on from the surprise drop of ‘Midnight’ at the strike of midnight on New Years Eve. 

‘Under The Surface’ sets the tone for what is to follow. Mesmerising in its emphatic delivery with an impeccable blend of anthemic melody, melancholic riffs and a huge chorus that signals the dawning of a new era for the band. Speaking about the new single, vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden notes: “Under The Surface is a song about feeling trapped and wanting to find a way out of whatever is holding you back. It’s about paranoia, dark thoughts and the need to get over them. It’s a powerful song for me, writing it was a total release and when we finished it in the studio I felt a weight was lifted from my shoulders”

There is an underlying rawness to the energy sewn deep into the fabric of Glasgow that Baby Strange have harnessed with an unrelenting force. 2021’s ‘Land of Nothing’ EP showed versatility in their songwriting and saw the band flowing between straight up punk rock anthems like ‘More! More! More!’ into the bass driven post-punk dynamics of ‘There’s Something There’. It propelled Baby Strange to a mammoth headline tour of the UK towards the end of the year which saw them packing out venues up and down the country. Last year saw a taste of the new era of Baby Strange and this year they’re set to show the world exactly what they’ve got. 

Check out the single, ‘Under The Surface’ below.

Baby Strange Release Music Video For New Single, ‘I Want To Believe’

Baby Strange have released a video for their new single ‘I Want To Believe’.

This comes after ‘Club Sabbath’, another cut from their upcoming ‘Land of Nothing’ EP, set to be released on 30th April via Icons Creating Evil Art.

Vocalist and guitarist Johnny Madden says: “‘I Want To Believe’ is about wanting to be accepted by god but feeling you’re sinning too much in life to be fully accepted. It’s about paranoia and the need for redemption, as without redemption you have no validation.”

Check out the video for ‘I Want To Believe’ below.