Music Video Roundup 22/02/19

Friday already? That can only mean it’s 4PM! This it’s time for the music video roundup. If you’re new to either the blog or the roundup posts, this is how it works. Every week, I view some of the best recently released music videos and compile them into a list for everyone’s viewing pleasure. They’re span across all the different genres, so expect something different for most of the tracks. First up are Australian newcomers Dealer who’ve recently signed to Stay Sick Recordings and they have a new video for the track ‘Crooked’.


Next, ahead of the release of their third record, O.r.k. have released a new video for ‘Black Blooms’, which also features System Of A Down vocalist Serj Tankian. This is off their upcoming record, ‘Ramagehead’, which is set to be released on February 22nd via Kscope Record.


Continuing this weeks list, with their recently released record, ‘Designed Obsolescence’ Death Metallers Continuum recently dropped their latest video for ‘A History Denied’. On the video, the band said: “We knew we wanted to do something other than your typical band performance video and Marshall Wieczorek and Michelle Nisbet did a great job at writing and directing the plot-driven video that is loosely based on the concept of our new album Designed Obsolescence. I feel like the vibe of mystery and intrigue go great with the song which has some new songwriting elements we’ve never used in Continuum before. Hopefully, you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed shooting it.”

Continuing on with the heavy theme, which is becoming more and more apparent for this week’s videos is Lakeshore who have a new video in the form of Sorry which is taken from their second EP, ‘Secret Weapons’, released a few months ago.


We’re heading down to Essex for our number five pick of the week and steering into the Alternative Rock genre now is Sun Arcana. The band have a new track in the form of ‘Let Me Down (ventilate) which acts as the follow up to 2018’s ‘As I Take A Breath…’ and Acoustic Sessions EP.


And moving across the pond to Delaware for Hardcore band Year Of The Knife, they have a video which was first released on Pure Noise Records for ‘Fatal’. It’s the first release for the band on Pure Noise which is a compilation of their Ultimat Disease and First State Aggression EPs.


And we’re going a bit softer for our next pick of the week with one track from Weezer’s cover record. It’s the video for their cover of ‘Take On Me’ which also stars Stranger Things’ Finn Wolfhard in a full 80s outfit with massive hair which pays homage to the original video.


Going for more a Pop-Punk vibe next but not more acoustic for this selection. This is With Confidence doing the opposite of the norm these days and reimagining their track for ‘Without Me’ as a fully loud and produced version, which is something you could possibly crowd surf to as well.


For the penultimate pick, we’re going back to the heavy vibe of the week. Our Hollow, Our Home fans have made the track ‘Wraiths’ a fan favourite since their latest record was released in October and the band have listened to fans, giving the track a huge music video. Speaking about the track in question, Vocalist Tobias Young shared that:

“This is my favourite track on the record. Its written from the perspective of someone who suffers with IED (Intermittent Explosive Disorder – anger management) and how living with it effects your thought process. Easily one of the most difficult songs to play musically, but also the most fun to record, and I hope it will go down well live! I think it does a good job of tying up any loose ends from “// anger” as it has a positive spin towards the end.”


And now, for the last track of the week. I sometimes choose my favourite based on the band. Sometimes the video itself but this is a combination of the artist, the video and the cinematography. This was filmed while our on their tour of Asia and their newest record, ‘So What’ is set to be released on March 1st. Ladies and gentlemen, for the last music video of the week, I give you While She Sleeps track, ‘The Guilty Party’.

And that’s it for another week of music video roundups. Be sure to check back next week for another ten of the best right here at Almost Anything Media.