Singles Roundup 08/05/20

Hello everyone and welcome back! It’s time for another week of the best singles that have recently been released, all in good order of epicness. I’ve tried to make sure that none of these overlap with the Music Videos Roundup post which should have gone live in addition to this post as well so when you’re done be sure to head over to have a read of that!

Let’s get started

First up this week we have the South Coast UK Pop-Punkers The Bottom Line who’ve shared their new track, ‘Youth’ which brings an end to the band’s ‘No Vacation’ era.

On the track, Cal Amies, the band’s frontman has said:

“‘Youth’ is a song I wrote a long time ago, it’s about the realisation that I ruined a lot of my younger years as a kid due to letting things get to me way too easily. I was a moody teenager and it wasn’t until later in life I realised… the idea of swearing this much in a song wasn’t really intentional, in fact I never really find that dropping the F-bomb adds much effect. When I ghosted the lyrics for ‘Youth’ it just kind of came out like this due to frustration but I think it really portrays the meaning well as a result so we kept it. This was the last song we recorded with Romesh (Dodangoda) at Longwave Studios on the ‘No Vacation’ session. It was actually due to be the last track on the record but we decided it didn’t flow with the rest of the album, so we left it as a stand-alone track. This is the last track we will be releasing from the ‘No Vacation’ cycle, I’m excited for what’s to come next!”


Keeping things British for another track, we have alternative troupe The Hunna with ‘Dark Times’, which is the latest single off their upcoming record, ‘I’d Rather Die Than Let You’.

On the message of the track which is becoming quite relevant in the current times, the band have said:

“This song is about feeling overwhelmed with the dark and evil acts that we hear about & experience all over the world. It’s about feeling bewildered and helpless in these moments, ever more so now in these current times facing a force we never have before, having to self-isolate without connection to family and loved ones, and although feeling alone or helpless, finding power and resilience together as the world unites to survive and wait for the light that will come.”


Now moving into the heavy side of things, we have the hard-hitting and very enjoyable debut track from the side project of Employed to Serve and Renounced, Glorious. ‘Unashamed’ is the track in question which is off their upcoming debut EP of the same name. I can see the pits coming alive right now.


Heading into Veil Of Maya now with their ranging track, ‘Outsider’, which is expected to feature on their follow up record to their 2017 effort, ‘False Idol’ in a trippy and dizzy new video.


And lastly, on this weeks singles list we have the ever so graceful, Within Temptation. This is just a year on from their record, ‘Resist’ and their brand new track, ‘Entertain You’ was released today!

On the track vocalist Sharon Den Adel has said:

“Both in the music industry and the world around us, we see so many things changing and that inspires us creatively. We have always been a band that embraces change and this song shows that more than ever, both musically and lyric-wise. For many of our fans, the song will be a shocker.”

In addition the timing of ‘Entertain You’ is massive, with the bands co-headlining tour with Evanescence set to happen in September 2020, fans can expect to hear some new music and enjoy it even more!

And that’s it for another week of a countdown of the best singles out in the world in the last week. Be sure to check back next week for another round of great singles. If you have any suggestions for me to check out, be sure to send an email or message us via the socials on Facebook or Twitter!

Glorious (Employed To Seve, Renounced) Announce Debut EP

Members of Metalcore have joined up! Employed To Serve and Renounced have announced their side-project, ‘Glorious’ with some details of their debut EP.

There’ll be five tracks on the aforementioned EP, titled as ‘Unashamed’ and will be released on July 3rd via Church Road Records.

You can view the cover art, full track listing, listen to the title track lead single and pre-order options below.


01.) Unashamed
02.) Myself
03.) Fake
04.) Audience
05.) I Don’t Wanna Be Me (Type O Negative cover)

Pre-orders are available via Bandcamp, Amazon, Google Play and Itunes.