JJ WILDE To Release New EP WILDE May 14th 2021

JJ Wilde is poised to become a household name with the release of her eponymous sophomore EP WILDE, available May 14th (Black Box). The six-track offering was born of necessity, allowing Wilde the chance to break free from the everyday and through the songs, taking her to a place where anything is possible. “These are feel good, fun songs”, says JJ of WILDE, which she hopes will give the listener “an escape to turn to and reminisce on good times, or day dream of the brighter days ahead.” 

Ever the trailblazer, Wilde made history in 2020 as the first female artist to simultaneously hit #1 on all three Canadian rock charts with her debut single ‘The Rush’, holding the slot for a whopping 19 weeks. Never one to rest on her laurels, Wilde quickly followed with two more back to back #1’s; ‘Best Boy’, the IDGAF ode to altering the societal narrative for how women should behave, and her most recent hit ‘Mercy’, a tour de force of modern rock in the form of a tale of revenge. ‘Best Boy’ and ‘Mercy’ can both be found on WILDE, in addition to three never before heard tracks and her infallible cover of the Stevie Nicks/Tom Petty classic ‘Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around’, with The Glorious Sons’ Brett Emmons lending his vocal stylings on the duet. 

Wilde’s debut album RUTHLESS, which earned praise from American Songwriter (“profoundly moving”), Ones to Watch (“soul-stirring”), Alternative Press (“for fans of [The] Struts, Amy Winehouse and YONAKA … kicking ass and taking names”), Atwood (“Fiercely unapologetic”), and Earmilk (“undeniable grit”) was recently nominated for ‘Rock Album of the Year’ at the 2021 JUNO Awards. Wilde is also up for a trio of awards at the 2021 Independent Music Awards, including ‘Video of the Year’ (Best Boy), ‘Song of the Year’ (The Rush) and ‘Rock/Metal/Punk/Alternative Artist, Group or Duo of the Year’ and was just added to the lineup at the 2022 Download Festival, the UK’s premier rock festival.    

WILDE Track Listing

1. Bushweed

2. Off The Rails

3. Mercy

4. Someone Under You

5. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (JJ Wilde & The Glorious Sons)

6. Best Boy

Download Festival Add Over 70 Names To Their 2022 Lineup

After confirming that the 2021 iteration of Download festival will not be taking place this year, the festival have revealed some more of the names who will be playing Donington Park in 2022. 

Joining the already announced headliners KISS, Iron Maiden and Biffy Clyro will be…

The Pretty Reckless
Rise Against
Black Label Society
Monster Truck
Power Wolf
Wayward Sons
Those Damn Crows
The Raven Age
Steel Panther
The Distillers
The Darkness
Lacuna Coil
Of Mice & Men
Wednesday 13
Ayron Jones
Massive Wagons
The Last Internationale
Control The Storm
The Ghost Inside
Funeral For A Friend
Boston Manor
Sleep Token
The Faim
Trash Boat
Holding Absence
Marianas Trench
Jamie Lenman
The Hara
Press Club
Cemetery Sun
Blackout Problems
Dead Posey
Static Dress
Electric Wizard
Blues Pills
Dying Fetus
British Lion
Bleed From Within
Twin Temple
Venom Prison
Fire From The Gods
A.A. Williams
Higher Power
Kill The Lights
Dead Poet Society
Joyous Wolf
Modern Error
Cellar Door Moon Crew
Lotus Eater
The Scratch
Dead Label
JJ Wilde
Anchor Lane
Temples On Mars
As Everything Unfolds

That’s a lot to get excited for.

Download Festival will take place at Donington Park on June 10-12 2022. 

Tickets are available via the following link.

New Music Roundup 28/08/20

Hello everyone. I do apologise for not posting in the last week. As some of you might not know, I’m a one person operation on this blog and things just got away from me in the last few weeks where I’ve been applying for more jobs as well as working at my part time place of work so things have been a touch hectic for me at the time of writing. But enough of that real life stuff, let’s get to the music side of things.

Bully’s latest single, ‘Prism’ arrived ahead of the release of their latest record, ‘Sugaregg’ which was released on the 21st August but I had to pick this track as a standout and this weeks first pick of the roundup!

The new record was produced and mixed by John Congleton and Bully’s Alicia Bognanno, with additional production and mixing by Graham Walsh, recorded at Pachyderm Studios in Cannon Falls, Minnesota, and Palace Sound in Toronto, Ontario, and mastered by Heba Kadry.

The next choice this week are the British Metalcore foursome Death Blooms. Vocalist Paul Barrow had the following to say on the release of ‘Anger’, the second track the band have released in 2020 and the second since their signing to Adventure Cat Records.

“‘Anger’ is about our fear and frailties and how it’s so easy for every single one of us to project all of that into our relationships and to the people closest to us. We can all become a product of our anxieties and our insecurities; feeling afraid to make changes and feeling so lost within it all. It can become so frustrating existing in this perpetual loop of uncertainty and it becomes all we feel and know. It’s impossible to let anybody else in when we’re stuck in this cycle and, unfortunately, our fear becomes our loneliness. We find it hard to believe, but some people do care and do want to help us. We just need to help ourselves.” 

Next on this week’s New Music Roundup, we have the trap metal titan Ghostmane. There’s a new track called ‘AL’, which was released recently and is the lead single from the upcoming record, ‘ANTI-ICON’.

Right, we have come to the penultimate track of the week and a newish artist who’s gaining some traction this year. I present to you, JJ Wilde.

In just over a year, JJ Wilde has gone from paying her dues and playing whatever shows she could to become the first female artist to have a debut single go No. 1 on all three Canadian rock radio formats – while on equal footing with The Killers, The Black Keys, and Billy Talent. Now, JJ is back with a new song that marks the next chapter of her evolution from fan-favourite underdog touring alongside The Struts, Incubus, The Blue Stones, and The Glorious Sons to a beloved chart-topper.

On the track she says: “For me, this song is about trying to change the narrative that society has accepted about women” says JJ. “It is clear, especially in the music industry that women are viewed more like objects a lot of the time than actual humans — seen not heard type of thing. Well, I want that to change – what women “should and shouldn’t do”, what society deems acceptable, what women are shamed for. All of the above. We are beautiful creatures. And I don’t think we should feel ashamed to express that. This song is taking a stab at what men have always been free to talk about in songs — doing whatever they want with whoever they want — but from a woman’s perspective.”

And lastly this week we have the final track as the return of the incredible You Me At Six.

The band debuted their latest track, ‘MAKEMEFEELALIVE’ which is expected to be the lead single of their upcoming TBA seventh record. This track follows on from the release of ‘Our House (The Mess We Made) which was released earlier in 2020.

This release is definitely a different turn of things for the band and if anything’s to go by, is going to be the heaviest record since they released Sinners Never Sleep around nine years ago.

And that’s it for another week of a countdown of the best singles out in the world in the last week. Be sure to check back next-time for another round of great music videos. If you have any suggestions for me to check out, be sure to send an email or message us via the socials on Facebook or Twitter!