Letlive To Release ’10 Years Of Fake History’ Demo Collection On Vinyl

Earlier in the year, Letlive. celerated the ten year anniversary of their record, ‘Fake History’ with the release of a series of Demos which would later become the track on the release.

Now, the Demo’s are getting a vinyl release, thanks to a collaboration between 333 Wreckords Crew and Tragic Hero Records, whom it was originally released through in 2010.

As well, it comes with a capsule merch collection which you can check out via the following link.

The tracklisting is as follows:

01. Poison (Final Master) // Lemon Party
02. James Brown // Homeless Jazz
03. 02 Instrumental (Final Master) // Over Being Under
04. Enemies // Enemies/Enemigos
05. 02 Track 02 // The Sick Sick 6.8 Billion
06. Casino // Casino Columbus
07. 03 Phoenix (Final Master) // Muther
08. Dun Dun // Hollywood And She Did
09. 04 Humanity (Final Master) // H. Ledger

Jason Aalon Butler had this to say about that period of his life:

“2007-2009. Whenever I think about those years I smile and I’m overcome with this sense of inimitable nostalgia. We learned a lot about freedom during that era. We worked multiple shit jobs and/or hustled in ways that some may consider questionable just to buy equipment. We found the most nefarious of establishments to call our studio. We quite literally risked our health and lives in mobile death traps we called “tour vans”. I mean one of our vans had a hole in the floor during a winter tour of America. It was completely metal inside with no lining, and my best friend and I agreed to share the back floor where the doors didn’t lock properly and would randomly open when we were driving on the highway. That’s how bad we wanted it and I truly believe it showed.

In these demos, all we wanted to do was create something different. Different than the primary music we listened to or the “scene” we would be considered in, different than that around us, different than what each other wanted at times even. That’s what made these demo years so special. We allowed ourselves and each other an opportunity to be free as creatives AND as people. Our effort to be so different was ironic as one of the biggest hurdles we faced when trying to grow the band was our lack of breakdowns and swoopy bangs. But in the end it is what made ll. so special to us and to those who became bold enough to say they liked it. The ones brave enough to come to the shows and let go with us. The ones with the courage to be different within an already sub-cultural arena. Those ll.ifers. That ll.ove. 

I think I speak for us all when I say we had no idea where these demos would bring us and that’s the most beautiful part about it. That aforementioned freedom and uncertainty – it brought us to you.”

LETLIVE. Are Breaking Up

In an emotional farewell, Letlive are calling it a day! They’ve said for the moment, they well be “no further activity” from the band.

Here’s their full statement.

“In the summer of 2002 this thing we call “letlive.” began in a garage in a small suburb of Los Angeles with one goal in mind. Above all else, letlive. was meant to be an idea not an outfit. This idea took its roots in honesty, humility, and finding an ironic strength in vulnerability. This is how it all began and it must end in the same fashion.

“We have been granted opportunities and experiences beyond anything we could have ever imagined and we are well aware that none of the aforementioned would be possible without you.

“Your support, investments, and genuine belief have been nothing short of inspiring which is what allowed us to create these works while enduring the unsettling ebb and flow of career musicianship.

“With this in mind we would like to take this time to exhibit said transparency and explain that over time a divergence in views and aims has developed within the camp- and, for the moment, the impact that has on letlive. as a group is that there will be no further activity for the foreseeable future. We want to thank every single person that we were privileged enough to make a connection with through this vessel. We will no longer write the soundtrack, but the most important element, the idea, will continue as long as you allow it to. You are and always will be letlive.

All ll.ove,
Jason Aalon Butler, Loniel Robinson, Ryan Johnson, & Jeffrey Sahyoun”