New York Pop-Punks Card Reader To Release New EP In November

This week, we’re introducing a new band you may not have heard of yet. That all changes now with the Pop-Punks; Card Reader!

Card Reader is a pop-punk band from Long Island, NY. A quartet consisting of guitarist/vocalist Tom Petito, drummer Rob Cigliano, guitarist Marc Lambert and bassist/vocalist Matt Sullivan. The group is getting ready to launch their first EP release “Mental Scars” on Tuesday, November 10th. This release follows up their debut single “Familiar Voices” as well as their two other independent releases “True Enemy” and “Sore Eyes” made earlier in 2020.

Card Reader has forged ahead to provide fans with more music in 2020. This time with the added experience and vocal presence from their new bassist Matt Sullivan. They attacked writing their new EP with the goal of reinforcing positivity and pushing the boundaries of their sound. Veteran music industry producers Nik Bruzzese (Man Overboard) and Ace Enders (The Early November) provide a strong boost of confidence behind the release. The self-titled lead off track “Mental Scars” also features a guest vocal appearance by Ryan Beebe of the Philadelphia based band Goalkeeper. An exciting first-time collaboration for both bands.

Card Reader founder Tom Petito elaborated on the process of creating the new EP.

“We didn’t hesitate. We got right back in the studio and challenged ourselves to push the envelope on what we started. This EP is called Mental Scars because everybody has them. We all live with our past mistakes and failures. The difference is how we use them. We wanted to convey a message that inspires using your past as your greatest weapon. It’s not about anyone else but yourself. Create new motivation and hold yourself accountable for your dreams. Most importantly never give up on who you are.”

Stream ‘Metal Scars’ below.

Social Media:





Man OVerboard’s Nik Bruzzese Shares Third Track From Upcoming Solo Project.

Man Overboard’s Nik Bruzzese has released a new track from his brand new solo project.

The project, called Casa Loma are off, ‘This Is Coping’, the debut EP which is set to be released on June 6th via Pure Noise Records.

On the release, Nik has said:

“After years on the road, I bought the house I grew up in from my mom,” he says. “The name of the neighborhood is Duck Pond, and now I get to live there with my wife and daughters, Olivia and Marley. On the surface, this song is about giving my kids a home and how much it sucks for them that I know all the house’s secrets, because I spent almost a decade trying to sneak out of it. But on a deeper level it deals with darker stuff; me trying to give them a song, a message, for the day I’m not around.”

Check out the track below.

Previous releases in the tracks, ‘Travelers’ and ‘Famaglia’ can be viewed below.

Pre-orders can be made via Pure Noise’s Webstore and Google Play.


Man Overboard’s Nikk Bruzzese Releases New Tracks From Solo Project

Man Overboard’s Nik Bruzzese has launched a brand new project with two new tracks you can hear now.

The project’s called Casa Loma and the tracks are taken off the upcoming debut EP, ‘This Is Coping’ which is set to be released on June 6th via Pure Noise Records.

On the EP Nik as said:

“I started writing this EP as a therapy session for myself. I went through one of the hardest years of my life last year because I lost two people very near to me. But when you’re a dad and have two daughters like I do, you’re not allowed to be sad. You have to be excited and happy about everything, even though inside you might be ripping to shreds.

“I think that’s the way most people work; they have to put up this front like everything’s fine even though they actually think the world is falling down around them. So writing this album was a way for me to vent and get out those feelings without tearing somebody’s head off or being a perpetual bummer to my family and friends. It’s for everyone who has to be this one person during the day and then someone different when they’re on their own.”

And the two tracks names?

First off we have ‘Travelers’ for which Bruzzese shares:

“Ever since my dad died, I feel like he sends me signs. Sometimes when I hear a weird sound in my house or a song on the radio, or I have an interaction with a stranger that feels special, I think it happened because my dad is trying to say something to me. I guess I keep looking for these signs because my dad didn’t really leave me with anything other than like, a Roth IRA. I want to leave something for my kids that’s on a level where they know it’s to them from me. So this song is like a letter in a drawer telling my kids what I need to say if I ever have to leave them.”

And the second is titled as ‘Famaglia’ in which he continues:

” This is totally a song meant to be played on an episode of ‘This Is Us.’ I don’t watch it, but my wife does, and every time she finishes an episode, she’s crying. I wrote this song from the perspective of a friend who lost a loved one in the most messed up way possible. When you lose someone like this, you have to be in touch with yourself spiritually and know even though the person you love is gone, you can talk to him and be lifted up with his presence instead of crashing and burning your way through life.”

The tracklisting for the EP is as follows:

01. All Alone Again
02. DP23
03. Famaglia
04. I Wanna Know
05. Olivia, Marley, and Duck Pond
06. Travelers

And this is the EP Art.


Whilst these tracks do form a similarity to which some Man Overboard tracks could see them stem from, the subjects I don’t think fit into what’s being played here. Here you have to think that Bruzzese is trying to establish himself as a different artist because there are more mature vibes and a more soulful and pop acoustic experience but the one way you’d describe Travellers? Emotional as hell.

Pre-orders can be made via Pure Noise’s Webstore and Google Play.