New Music Roundup 27/11/20

Hello everyone welcome back to the New Music Roundup! We’re here for a roundup of five of the best recently released tracks. They’re not all within the same genre and they’re all different in some way or another but that means that there’s a little something for everyone here but come on, let’s get down to the music!

First up this week is the return of The All American Rejects. ‘Me Vs. The World’ is the band’s first track release in over a year since ‘Send Her To Heaven’ in July 2019 and we covered it in a single review last week but we love this so much we had to have it as our first choice in this weeks roundup.

Lande Hekt has released a further glimpse of her beautifully poignant debut album ‘Going to Hell’, which is set for release 22 Jan 2021 via Get Better Records. A driven but wistful composition, new single Undone is full of longing and regret. In typically relatable style, Lande says “This one is about feeling sorry for yourself when you break up with someone that you weren’t even going out with.”

Coming out is the prevailing topic of the record with the title track itself being “about how homophobia and heteronormative culture can make you feel isolated and scared of being yourself,” as Hekt herself explains her thoughts and feelings surrounding her sexuality, continuing: “I internalised a lot of that culture for a long time and it wasn’t until I found myself surrounded by queer and trans people and friends, that I realised I could live happily in a way that felt right. I know I’m not alone in feeling like this and it was other people sharing their experiences with me that helped me out, so I named the album after this song to try and reach people who might want to be reached. It’s also not a dig on all Catholics; it’s just an expression of scepticism from a gay person regarding conservatism.” 

‘Going to Hell’ sounds like the sum of Hekt’s wide-ranging influences – The Replacements, The Raincoats, Sharon Van Etten, The Slits, Patti Smith, Sacred Paws, Le Tigre, Against Me! – multiplied by her own distinct voice. 

More music coming right now as the New Jersey favourites Can’t Swim are continuing their preparation for their upcoming EP release in ‘Someone Who Isn’t Me’ with their latest, ‘Casey’.

The EP is set to be released on December 4th 2020.

Penultimate choice this week are the metal-grime crossover masters Hacktivist with their latest track ‘Armoured Core’ which also features the guest vocals of Kid Bookie.

Co-Vocalist Jot Maxi says:

“This is a song for anyone who is going through a hard time and needs building up. It’s motivational. It makes you feel like, ‘Nothing can touch me, I can do this’, but it’s personal to Hacktivist as well. With what we’ve been through, a lot of other bands might have broken up, but we’re back with this new record and a new dynamic, which even I think is great and I’m super self-critical. As long as you’re alive and still breathing, your core is armoured and protected by something. This song is a reminder to stay strong.”

The final choice this week are Wild Pink whom have been teasing their upcoming record with their latest single, ‘You Can Have It Back’.

It’s a cut from ‘A Billion Little Lights’. The follow-up to 2018’s ‘Yolk In The Fur’, the full-length is the band’s first with Toronto-based label Royal Mountain Records, and is due on 19th February.

Frontman John Ross says: “This was the last song I wrote for the album, and it’s also one of the most fun to play live. Wild Pink songs typically don’t follow conventional song structures but with this one I did. Julia’s vocals totally make this song what it is, and I love Dan’s harmonies in the choruses – I wrote it with the intention of having someone else sing it. but ended up just singing it myself. This song is inspired by Fleetwood Mac and, once again, “If I Needed You” by Townes Van Zandt (one of the greatest songs ever written). Special cameo by Computer the Dog.”

And that’s it for another week of a roundup of the best new tracks out in the world in the last week. Be sure to check back next-time for another round of great music videos. If you have any suggestions for me to check out, be sure to send an email or message us via the socials on Facebook or Twitter!

Lande Hekt (Munchie Girls) Announces Solo Records ‘Going To Hell’

There’s a solo record incoming.

Lande Hekt, the frontwoman of Munchie Girls has announced her debut effort is going to be released January 22nd 2021 via Get Better Records.

On the release of the upcoming ‘Going To Hell’, Hekt explains that the record represents a time when she was coming out as gay.

“I’m no stranger to queer punk and queer politics. I’ve always taken a special interest for obvious reasons, but this record is important to me because it’s the first time I’m releasing anything as an outwardly gay person.”

Check out the Cover Art, Tracklisting, Stream of the lead single, ‘Whiskey’ and Pre-Order options below.

01.) Whiskey
02.) 80 Days Of Rain
03.) Hannover
04.) Winter Coat
05.) Undone
06.) December
07.) Stranded In Berlin
08.) Impending Doom
09.) Candle
10.) Going To Hell
11.) In The Darkness

Pre-order options are available via the label’s Webstore, Bandcamp, Amazon, Google Play and Itunes.

Munchie Girls Announce March 2020 UK Tour

The British Indie-Punk threesome Munchie Girls have announced some new headlining dates for March 2020, which will be the bands first UK appearances in over Six months.

Here are the dates.

March 2020

24th – Bristol Crofters Rights

25th – Exeter Cavern

26th – London Oslo

27th – Norwich Waterfront Studio

28t – Worcester Annie’s

29th – Manchester Gullivers

30t h – Glasgow King tut’s Wah Wah Hut

31st – Leeds Brudenell


Tickets are available to purchase now from the bands official Webstore.

Muchie Girls Announce Second Record

Now I’ve been waiting on this one for a while! The Punk Rock trio Munchie Girls have confirmed their follow up record to their 2016 debut ‘From Caplan To Belsize’ in the form of ‘Fixed Ideals’ which will drop on 31st August via Specialist Subject Records.

Here’s what it looks like.


And this is the tracklisting for the record.

01.) Jeremy
02.) Picture Of Health
03.) High
04.) Clinic
05.) Falling Down
06.) Isn’t Life Funny
07.) Bubble Bath
08.) Fig Tree
09.) Locked Up
10.) In Between Bands
11.) Laugh Again
12.) Hangovers
13.) Family Of Four

You can take a look at track 2. Picture Of Health below.

Pre-orders are available now via the Label’s Webstore, Bandcamp, Itunes, Amazon and Google Play.

2000 Trees Announce Bands

2000 Trees Festival have announced 38 bands for their festival.
The announced bands are:

Nothing But Thieves
Jamie Lenman
Pulled Apart By Horses
Dinosaur Pile-Up
Feed The Rhino
Muncie Girls
Black Foxxes
Area 11

Queen Kwong
Steven Battelle
The One Hundred
Petrol Girls
Strange Bones
Making Monsters
Straight Lines
Grumble Bee
Bad Sign
Away Days

Bellvue Days
Personal Best
Fizzy Blood
Jonah Matranga
Louise Distras
Apologies, I Have None
The St. Pierre Snake Invasion

There are some great bands announced there, be sure to check out Greywind, Vukovi and Munchie Girls among those announced. Check out the poster below.