Novacrow Releases Debut Record, ‘Look At Me Now’

Since their inception in 2013, Novacrow has toured the UK extensively, released two EPs, countless singles, a compilation album, and nine music videos, and has even appeared on major European festivals such as Metal Days in 2017, Winter Days of Metal in 2018, Hard Rock Hell Ibiza in 2022 and their latest appearance on the New Blood Stage of Bloodstock 2022. And now, their long-anticipated debut album ‘Look At Me Now’ is finally out!

Deciding to take a short break from touring, Novacrow began writing ‘Look At Me Now’ in February 2020. The worldwide COVID pandemic gave the band time to focus on the song writing and to meticulously plan out the DIY approach to professionally record a full-length album. In their desire to not pull any punches, the album came out exactly as the band had intended: an honest collection of eclectic songs, each one a perfect and varied representation of the band’s various personalities.

The band recruited Scare Tactics drummer Stuart Barker to play on the album. The recording process kept being pushed back by the various lockdowns imposed on Liverpool during the time of the pandemic, but in December 2020 the band was finally able to start recording. As the album was entirely self-produced, the recording process took almost an entire year from start to finish, with bassist Freddy taking control of all production and engineering duties – from recording drums all the way to final masters. The whole recording process was filmed for an upcoming mini documentary the band is set to release.

Not wanting to hold anything back, three singles have already been released: ‘Hollow Armour’, ‘Day Break’, and ‘Medusa Medusa’ – each one featuring stunning new music videos unlike any the band has released before. To help achieve their vision, the band also recruited many friends and family to perform on their album including Oceanis vocalist Joe MaryanjiSlomo Casino and session drummer Jack Batchelor, session musician Robyn Wilkinson, amongst many others.

Check out Novacrow’s record, ‘Look At Me Now’, below.

Band Interview Of The Day – Novacrow

  1. If could introduce yourselves for us, who are you?

We are Novacrow, a deliciously erotic and hilariously charismatic alternative metal band based in Liverpool, UK.

  1. How did you all meet?

Kitty and Jonyx were already dating when Kitty decided to form the band. It’s quite unclear how they met Freddy, one day he just was sort of…there. Playing bass for the band. And they couldn’t get rid of him ever since.

  1. How long have you been playing?

    The band was formed around September 2013. So since September 2013. Christ, that’s almost 9 years of this nonsense.
  2. What three words would you use to describe the music you play?

    Erotic, Chaotic, Destructive.
  3. What are your musical influences?

    We mostly just copy bird whistles, because they can’t sue us for copyright infringement. Other than that, we’re very much influenced by bands such as Type O Negative, Machine Head, Devin Townsend, Nirvana, mostly other bands that seem to love yelling as much as we do.
  4. What’s the weirdest thing you’ve seen during a show?

    We didn’t actually see this (thankfully), but once we played a show and the venue owner told us afterwards that she loved our set so much that she started touching herself mid-show.
  5. Being away from the stages in the last few years, where was the first place you visited when the restrictions were lifted?

    Ice cream parlours. Oh wait, you meant the first place we performed at? Then, also ice cream parlours.
  6. What’s the one record you own but wouldn’t ever admit to owning?

    This question is weird because it implies we’re ashamed of the music we like. Fuck that. We’ll listen to anything that’s good, from Metal to Pop to Funk to Classical to anything in between.

    That said, we often shame Jonyx for liking Journey over Queen. Never thought they’d be in direct competition with each other but there you go.
  7. What have you been listening in the last few weeks?

    In preparation for our most recent Bloodstock appearance, we’ve been listening to a lot of the bands that were playing there this year. Namely bands like Gwar, Lamb of God, Dimmu Borgir, Jinjer, Lorna Shore, and so on. But since we’ve been doing more travelling together, it’s back to our usual 12 hour long car playlist consisting primarily of Pokemon songs.
  8. Are there any releases you have planned in the near future?

    Well, I’m glad you asked! Our upcoming debut album ‘Look At Me Now’ is set to be released in late September, and you can pre-order it now on along with some sexy new merchandise! We got beanies, two brand new t-shirt designs, and so much more! We also just released two singles from said album called ‘Hollow Armour’ and ‘Day Break’, both of which were released along with stunning music videos. SO GET TO PRE-ORDERING NOW BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE!